Week 8 – Brothers and Sisters

In my first post about me, I posted that I had three brothers, Garry, Peter & Robin (Bobbo). So this week I’ll tell you a little about them. I never had a sister and it was a case of if you can’t beat them join them. So I grew up to be a bit of a Tom Boy, wearing all their hand me down clothes and playing cowboys and indians with them.

Garry is the eldest and being 5 years older than me, went off to boarding school when I was about 8 years old. He was such a tease, always the practical joker. I remember one time our dear grandmother, nanna Herbert, was in the out-house which was up in the back garden. It was close to Guy Fawkes and we all had crackers to play with. There were jumping jacks, sparklers and the Big Penny Bomb! Yep, you guessed it, Garry threw one of the penny bombs under the toilet door and it exploded near nanna. It must have frightened the living daylights out of her.

Garry was a good footballer and played for Swan Districts in the WAFL (West Australian Football League). Later he played for West Perth before coming back to the farm to help dad.

Peter & Jenny on the swing next to the Morton Bay Fig tree that is still growing next to the visitors centre.

Peter & Jenny on the swing next to the Morton Bay Fig tree that is still growing next to the visitors centre.

When Peter finished boarding school and while Garry was in the city, he worked on the farm for a few years before heading off travelling around Australia on a motorbike. Peter is only 2 years older than myself and Bobbo, (Robin) is only 13 months older than I am. Mum apparently had 3 of us in nappies at the same time and I imagine in those days, without disposable nappies, she would have been kept pretty busy.

Peter and I used to spend the school holidays with our grandmother, Nanna Herbert, at her home in Snowden Street. One of my memories was going to the Sunshine Festival and winning a prize on the chocolate wheel. Nanna chose a doll for me, but Peter remembers being really put out as he wanted a prize for himself.

Jenny and Bobbo at about 2 & 3 years old on the farm at Mumby.

Jenny and Bobbo at about 2 & 3 years old on the farm at Mumby.

Bobbo and I were the naughty twins. Being so close in age, we did everything together, we were buddies, spending many hours, days, building cubby houses together or off riding our bikes, bird nesting, kicking football or catching taddies (tadpoles) in the creek. Sometimes we’d be out for most of the day. No harm ever came to us.

Amy Drage, neighbours and good friends of the family, told me once that Bobbo and I were staying with her at Chilmony Bowes, while mum was in hospital. It was near to the Northampton Show time and Amy’s chrysamthemum’s were in bud, looking ready to win her some prizes. But, Bobbo and I went around and pulled off the buds, putting them in a pickling jar!!

Amy tells me that she gave us both a hiding with the long handle of her hair brush. Recently I went to Amy’s 90th birthday and we reminisced about this time. She remembered it well.

Peter, Garry, Bobbo & Jenny. The boys were heading off to school.

Peter, Garry, Bobbo & Jenny. The boys were heading off to school.

All ready for sports day. Peter needed to get new sandshoes when we got to town.

All ready for sports day.  Jenny, Bobbo, Peter & Garry. Peter needed to get new sandshoes when we got to town.

Garry, Peter and Bobbo with a wedged tail eagle.

Garry, Peter and Bobbo with a wedged tail eagle.

About Jenny MacKay

Just a person who is looking forward to retirement and enjoying the golden years!
This entry was posted in 52-Week-Challenge, Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 8 – Brothers and Sisters

  1. tstatton says:

    You have excelled yourself yet again Jenny! I feel as though I know each and everyone of you as you introduce your family members. Farm kids always had so much more freedom and fun than the city kids. Mind you we all had fun too, but it was different. My brother and I always loved going up to our cousin’s place at Toodyay and playing in the creek, floating logs (probably only branches) down to the bridge and then into the whirlpools below!, bringing in the cows for milking, picking the citrus fruit and grading them for the markets etc. All work for the country bumpkin, but fun for the city slickers! Thanks for sharing your enriched young days with us Jenny.

    Like

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog. I'd love to hear your comments.

